Staff & Leadership

Meet the DAM Team

Miah J. Davis, Executive Director

With over a decade of experience, Miah J. Davis brings a dynamic blend of artistic expertise and nonprofit management to her role. Davis received her Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in Painting from Wayne State University, where she honed her artistic skills and developed a deep-rooted belief in the transformative potential of arts education. Throughout her career,  Davis has been a passionate advocate for the multifaceted skills that artists acquire in an academic environment and how they can be applied and leveraged across various career paths.  As the Director of the DAM, Davis is committed  to nurturing and supporting artists as entrepreneurs, providing members with the necessary educational resources,  platforms, and opportunities, and creating pathways for young artists to see themselves reflected in the organization.

Davis previously held roles at Wayne State University, the Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, College for Creative Studies, and BasBlue. Outside of work, her hobbies include ornamental horticulture, researching new developments and trends in philanthropy, and sharing her love of North America’s only marsupial, the Virginia Opossum, with anyone who will listen.


Kelly Farrell, Gallery Manager

Kelly Farrell is an arts administrator driven by community engagement and the arts. Farrell is passionate about increasing visibility and opportunity for local artists, as well as equitable arts access for the community. In her role as Gallery Manager at the Detroit Artists Market, Farrell specializes in project management and development, data management, and relationship building.

Farrell received a Masters of Arts (MA) in Arts Administration from Wayne State University and Bachelor of Arts in Art History from Rollins College. In her most recent role at Wayne State University, Farrell assisted in the development, coordination, and implementation of an interdisciplinary Visual Thinking Strategy (VTS) program. Outside of work, Farrell is an avid traveler, enjoys cooking (and eating), and hanging out with her cats. 


Hailey Hayward, Gallery Assistant

As the Detroit Artists Market’s (DAM) Member Associate, Hayward has had the opportunity to explore her diverse interests, including community programs, artwork installation, exhibition curation, and photography. A recent graduate of Wayne State University, Hayward received her Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in Painting and Photography. This dual concentration intensified her passion for the arts, as Hayward was empowered by professors to explore any medium she was drawn to. This resulted in Hayward embracing a multimedia art practice, as she often worked in performance or sculpture although being in a painting class, and has grown into a  as she works out of her historic studio in Detroit.

As a working artist, Hayward has a deep passion for exploring ways in which she can help the art community flourish. This led to her co-creating an art collective out of her studio for emerging artists in Metro Detroit as a way for artists to make connections and build community as they explore their creative practice. Through the DAM, she can extend this work and curiosity into the broader community. Outside of work, Hayward is an avid reader, collects cameo jewelry and fantasizes about being in the circus.


Charlene McNary, Bookkeeper

Mike Kearns, Art Installer

Board of Directors

Kate Baker, Chair, Oakland Housing, Inc.

Doug McElroy, Vice Chair, Treasurer & Circle of Art Chair, Retired CFO

Meighen Jackson, Exhibitions Committee Chair, Artist

Megan Winkel, Secretary, Henry Ford Health System

Denise Freitag, Freitag & Co.

Leslie Graves, Attorney and Art Consultant

Raquel Hardy, Michigan State Police

Robert-David Jones, Independent Production & Logistics Consultant

Hubert Massey, Artist

Carole Morisseau, Artist

Chizoba Onwuzurike, Artist

Monique Riley, Matrix Human Services

Philip Rivera, Director, Volunteer Services, Detroit Institute of Arts

Exhibitions Committee

Anita Bates

Veronica Bielat

Darcel Deneau

Gary Eleinko

Laura Gibson

Dan Graschuck

Leslie Graves

Tracy Irwin

Meighen Jackson, Chair

Melissa Jones

John F. Korachis

Chizoba Onwuzurike

Elizabeth Youngblood